Politics News

Kwara governor names nine women among 16 commissioner-nominees Read More:


The Kwara State Governor, Abdulrahman Abdulrazaq, on Tuesday, sent another list of six commissioner-nominees to the state House of Assembly to complete the list of 16 nominees sent to the legislature for screening.

According to the final list read on the floor of the Assembly by the Speaker, Yakubu Danladi, during Tuesday plenary, nine were women and seven were men.

The women in the nominees list are Hajia Saadatu Modibbo-Kawu, Miss Joana Kolo, Hajia Arinola Lawal, Hajia Aishat Ahman-Patigi, Mrs Afolabi Adenike, Ahmad Fatima, Aremu Deborah,  Oyedun Juliana and Oyeyemi Florence.

The seven men, according to the list, are Rotimi Iliyasu, Salman Jawondo, Aliyu Kora-Sabi, Dr Raji Razaq, Aliyu Saifudeen, Wahab Agbaje and Murtala Olarewaju.

Meanwhile, the speaker told the nominees to furnish the legislature with copies of their credentials as the screening of the nominees would commence on Tuesday.

Similarly, the House of Assembly has called on AbdulRazaq to review the activities of the state security outfit, Operation Harmony, to reposition it as a battle security watchdog of the state.

The call was part of the resolutions of the House of Assembly on a motion of General Public Importance moved by Babatunde Paku, representing Malete/Ipaye/Oloru state constituency.


The House also urged the governor to direct the Secretary to the State Government to collaborate with the state commissioner of police to ascertain the status of the Ilorin closed-circuit television centre for repositioning for optimum performance.

One Comment

Leave a Reply